SEATC Header

Board of Directors

Andy Hope
Ronn Dick
Marion Berry
Cecelia Tavoliero
Carlton Smith
Phyllis Carlson
Sue Stevens
Lee Wallace
Mary Duncan
Joyce Shales
Ed Warren


Ted Wright, Interim President

Elder Advisors

Joe Hotch
Dennis Demmert
Nora Dauenhauer
Jim Walton
Marie Olson
Lydia George
Isabella Brady
Gil Truitt
Charles Natkong, Sr.
Arnold Booth


(907) 586-1625
(907) 790-4406
(907) 723-8536

The SEATC Elders Council will meet by teleconference on Wednesday, July 30, at 3 p.m. The number to call is 877-751-8040, code 993017. This teleconference is at the request of Joe Hotch. The main discussion item will be developing a response to Central Council THITA's recent actions regarding SEATC. I have copied a chronology of the Tribal College Planning Project from 1997-2001 for your information. If you have any comments/suggestions, please call me at 790-4406, or contact me by email. Gerry, would you please pass this information to Isabella Brady?

Andy Hope

Tribal College Timeline
February 1997 - The Southeast Alaska Native Rural Education Consortium Elders Council adopts a resolution calling for creation of a tribal college and tribal charter school.

Late 1997 - Kellogg Grant Funded Consortium for Alaska Native Higher Education (CANHE) organized Sealaska Heritage Foundation initial Southeast representative Partnership: Alaska Rural Systemic Initiative, Southeast Alaska Native Language Consortium, Sealaska Heritage Foundation

January 1998 - First Southeast Partnership meeting, Juneau

February 1998 - Second Southeast Partnership meeting

May 1998 - Southeast Alaska Native Language Consortium Conference, Juneau

August 1998 - Kellogg funding transferred to Central Council Tlingit and
Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska.

October 1998 - Southeast Alaska Native Language Consortium Planning
Conference, Juneau.

February 1999 - Ted Wright's contract as Tribal College Development Specialist is terminated, without notice, by Archie Cavanaugh of CCTHITA with a one page letter left on his computer keyboard.

Draft by laws for Southeast Alaska Tribal College adopted by the Southeast Alaska Native Rural Education Consortium Elders Council

April 99 - CCTHITA expresses intent to withdraw from CANHE, thus killing the tribal college planning project in SE AK. Representatives of the SEANREC Elders Council (John Hope, Marie Olson and Jim Walton) attend the late April/early May CANHE meeting in Juneau. The Elders express frustration at CCTHITA administration of the Kellogg and AKRSI funding for the tribal college planning project and request that funding be retained for SEATC, regardless of the intentions of CCTHITA.

May 1999 - SEATC Interim Trustees appointed September 1999, Kiks.ádi Pole Raising Ceremony, Sitka, Following a presentation by interim trustees John Hope and Jim Walton, 200 Clan and Clan House leaders sign a resolution endorsing the Tribal College Planning Project. The Chilkat Indian Village adopts a resolution endorsing the tribal college planning project.

October 99 - The SEATC Interim Trustees request a meeting with Archie Cavanaugh to discuss concerns about the lack of coordination by CCTHILTA. Following this meeting, John Hope drafts a resolution expressing SEATC Interim Trustees concerns about the CCTHITA administration of the tribal college planning project for the November ANB/ANS Grand Camp Convention in Ketchikan.. John Hope gives Andy Hope a copy of the draft resolution, one hour before he passes away in an automobile accident on October 6, 1999

The initial 5-year plan for developing SEATC is completed November 99. The Douglas Indian Association and the Grand Camp Alaska Native Brotherhood and Sisterhood adopt resolutions supporting the tribal college planning project.

December 99, Articles of Incorporation filed for SEATC. The Alaska Intertribal Council adopts a resolution supporting the tribal college planning project.

March 00 - Alaska Native Education Summit held in Juneau; participants adopt an action plan for developing tribal colleges in Alaska. The Sitka Tribe of Alaska, the Wrangell Camp #2, Alaska Native Brotherhood, Sitka Camp #1 Alaska Native Brotherhood, the Sitka Camp #4 Alaska Native Sisterhood and the Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska adopt resolutions supporting the tribal college planning project.

June 00 - The Southeast Native Education Forum is held in Juneau, participants adopt detailed action plans for SEATC. The National Congress of American Indians adopts a resolution supporting development of tribal colleges in Alaska. September 00, The first 5 year cycle for the Alaska Rural Systemic Initiative ends

December 00 - Southeast region funding for the second 5 year cycle of the AKRSI is transferred to CCTHITA, Andy Hope hired as Southeast Region Coordinator

February 01 - The AFN/CANHE Higher Education Summit is held in Anchorage. The President of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium offers technical and political support to Alaska Tribal Colleges. Peter Honohono, of the Native Hawaiian Educators Association also attends.

March 01 - CANHE representatives attend the American Indian Higher Education Consortium meeting in Duluth, Minnesota. The AIHEC board authorizes a MOA with CANHE to provide technical support.

May 01 - The American Indian Higher Education Consortium and the Institute for Higher Education Policy publish "Building Strong Communities, Tribal Colleges as Engaged Institutions"

July 01 - CANHE receives a planning grant from the National Science Foundation’s Tribal College and Universities Program. This grant is for planning for improved technology infrastructure. A report on the Kellogg Foundation Alaska Tribal College Project, entitled "Site Visit: Consortium for Alaska Native Higher Education" by Dr. Michael Pavel, is published.

September 01 - Kellogg funding ends. First SEATC workshop/course

Fall 01 - Formal organization of SEATC. 9 Southeast Alaska Tribes (Organized Village of Saxman, Ketchikan Indian Corporation, Wrangell Cooperative Association, Sitka Tribe of Alaska, Angoon Community Association, Chilkat Indian Village, Petersburg Indian Association, Central Council of Tlingit and, Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, and Douglas Indian Association) adopt resolutions approving the SEATC by laws and authorizing appointment of a board of trustees.

The Alaska Federation of Natives and the Alaska Native Education Council adopt resolutions supporting development of tribal colleges in Alaska and Hawaii.

January 02 - SEATC officers are elected. SEATC 5-year plan (2001-2006) updated.

The SEATC website is posted on the Alaska Native Knowledge Network server.

April 03 - CANHE reapplies for an NSF TCUP implementation grant.

August 03 - The SEATC Elders Council adopts a resolution calling for an independent tribal college.

August-December 03 - SEATC sponsors a 3 credit course through UAS: ED 493/693 Math in Tlingit Art, with Dr. Claudette Engblom Bradley, Instructor and Andy Hope, Coordinator

October 03 - ANB/ANS Grand Camp adopts resolution 22 - 03, calling for an independent tribal college.

February 04 - Ted Wright and Andy Hope distribute a letter to the Native community asking for accountability from CANHE and Tlingit and Haida, re: the NSF - TCUP grant fiasco.

May 04 - SEATC cosponsors a Native Scholarship Providers Forum in Juneau.

Summer 04 - SEATC cosponsors a series of Native Education forums in Juneau.

June - July 05 - SEATC cosponsors ED 193/593, the Southeast Alaska Place-Based Education Academy at the UAS Juneau Campus.