SEATC Header

Board of Directors

Andy Hope
Ronn Dick
Marion Berry
Cecelia Tavoliero
Carlton Smith
Phyllis Carlson
Sue Stevens
Lee Wallace
Mary Duncan
Joyce Shales
Ed Warren


Ted Wright, Interim President

Elder Advisors

Joe Hotch
Dennis Demmert
Nora Dauenhauer
Jim Walton
Marie Olson
Lydia George
Isabella Brady
Gil Truitt
Charles Natkong, Sr.
Arnold Booth


(907) 586-1625
(907) 790-4406
(907) 723-8536


Strategies For Engaging Native Families in Community Education

The format for the SE Native Education Forum will be as follows: 8:30 - 10 a.m: Introductions and overview presentations on each of the four strands: Adult Education, K-12 Education, Higher Education and Strategies For Engaging Native Families in Community Education.

10:15 a.m.-Noon Breakout sessions, 10 minute presentations such as those listed below.

Noon - 1 p.m. Lunch Break

1-2:30 p.m. Continue breakout sessions

2:30-2:45 p.m. break

2:45-5 p.m.. Breakout group reports

We are asking each group to submit short, one-two paragraph summaries describing your program. These summaries will be compiled into a SE AK Native Education Resource Directory. We asking each strand to present an action plan in the following format:


Who is responsible


Time line


In preparation for the November 11 Native Education Forum, the planning committee identified the following programs and individuals as possible presentations.

Early Childhood Tlingit Language Program, Phyllis Carlson

SEARHC Wellness Program, ?

Hoonah Family Partnership, Nicki Shelton,

"Gatherings" video, Nila Rhinehart, CCTHITA Head Start

Literacy Links, Jennifer Scott, Juneau School District

Evenstart, Lorrie Wright, CCTHITA

Family Learning Centers, Carin Smolin, SERRC